Testimonials

McKees Brasserie

“Staff were very helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble”
Google Review Icon
Diana
“Food was fabulous really good value for money for a 3 course set summer menu. Definitely go back”
Google Review Icon
Sharon
Lovely Christmas meal with my family, great service from all the staff and very well prepared hot food.
Google Review Icon
Brendan Boland
Christmas 2023
Absolutely delighted to find this hidden gem. The hotel, bar and restaurant are impeccably clean, staff are friendly, welcoming and very attentive. The one meal I ate there surpassed my expectations, the mini terrine of soup (which was complimentary) was to die for. My lamb was cooked to perfection and the meal on the whole was 5* and very reasonably priced. I can't wait to go again.
Google Review Icon
Alison Foster
November 2023
Excellent Lovely meal. Steak night was something else. Staff fantastic. Own car park. Book in advance. No moans or groans at all. Well done all, One satisfied customer here. Shall return.
Google Review Icon
dcplod
Date of visit: July 2023
“We were pleasantly surprised by the surrounding area we had some lovely walks with our dog.. The hotels was peaceful, good location for shops, pubs etc, the breakfast was nice, we ate outside. Room was lovely a very nice sized bath! Host very friendly and accommodating would recommend this place for a break.”
Paula
28th August 2020
“It’s a cosy and family run hotel, so this too, adds to the welcoming stay. It’s in a great location and the bed is too comfortable ! The lovely hearty breakfast and for such great value. The owners and staff are just lovely and friendly! And the creative themed menus that they have such as Mexican, Italian, Spanish, etc! Throughout the hotel, there is a lovely traditional, rustic charm to the but yet all the mod cons and it’s well kept. I personally love staying in places like this as I feel there is more character.”
Jo Ann
31st August 2020
Great family meal before Christmas! Enjoyed our family meal out here before Christmas. The food really suits us, it’s special (better than you’d cook at home for sure!) but without being too fancy. Good value too, 3 courses for £31.
Analemmatic
Date of visit: December 2023
Impressive Value First time we have tried the restaurant but I have to say we were impressed with the set lunch, very tasty dishes and incredible value for money. Plenty of choices and everything was well presented and tasted great. Service was very efficient as well, we will definitely try it again
MartinH641
Date of visit: October 2023
First class meal in every way I don't know how they do such quality for such modest prices. Its not posh and a little old fashioned but the bar is extensive in its variety unlike most far bigger places and the food is extraordinary
Arthur H
Date of visit: January 2023
“The friendliness, everywhere is spotless. Hand sanitizer in reception and bar. We love the Haig Hotel, very comfortable, dogs love it here. The food is wonderful. I can recommend the salmon and smoked haddock with spinach and chive sauce. We will see them again and we recommend the Haig hotel very much.”
Linda
12th July 2020
“Absolutely first class. The food never disappoints. The staff are always friendly and welcoming. We love it there. Good value too.”
Google Review Icon
Diane
31st August 2020
“Really lovely meal. Service was super. Great value for money. We took 3 children (aged 11, 9 & 7 yrs) and had a kids menu to suit them. Also took an 84 yr old and access was easy.”
Google Review Icon
Nicola
26th August 2020
Great Food and Service. We visited for the first time in a party of 10 for the Christmas menu. There were several, bigger parties in but we were well looked after and enjoyed great food and service from the friendly staff. We will definitely return in the New Year.
Trip Advisor
StevieG4
Date of visit: December 2023
Amazing staff Amazing food ,great value ,super friendly staff our waitress was absolutely amazing, atmosphere warm and happy vibes.
Google Review Icon
L4967AAmariana
Date of visit: December 2023
Fantastic food fantastic service This was the first time I have eaten at this restaurant. I decided to try the gourmet evening which was excellent. Dimos who was our server was excellent throughout the whole time I was dining in the restaurant. The Gourmet evening was made up of 6 courses of which the chocolate bomb was my favourite. I would recommend to anyone to try this restaurant out as the whole evening was fantastic. I will be looking forward to the next time I dine here.
Trip Advisor
Joshua O
Date of visit: October 2023
Stayed here many times and always happy with our booking, and the service and food. Lovely family run hotel.
Google Review Icon
Lorraine
Wonderful 3 course Sunday lunch. Excellent friendly service. You cannot lose.
Google Review Icon
Lorraine
Excellent meal at McKees Brasserie. Staff attentive, friendly and helpful. First class.
Google Review Icon
Gordon
Evening Meal – I was lucky enough to win a three course meal for two here and we went last week, the complete meal was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. Would certainly go again. The dining room is bright and airy and the evening we went it was full so would certainly recommend booking. Car park at front and rear of hotel.
Trip Advisor
Jo Ann
31st August 2020